How to Delete Discarded Mails Permanently From AT&T Account Instead Of Archiving Them on Devices running ios 11?
Operating an AT&T email account on devices running on iOS 11 is quite easy and efficient. After adding AT&T account on iOS devices you can send and receive email effortlessly as long as you have an internet connection. However, you must have noticed that you only get the option to archive or flag the emails instead of deleting them in iOS 11. This happens due to the default settings of an iOS device. You can alter these settings to delete the discarded email permanently instead of archiving them.
You should note that it is better to archive the email if you think that may need them in the future. In case you delete the emails permanently then there is no option by which you can get them back. Keep reading this post to know the steps to delete discarded emails permanently from AT&T email account.
Difference between Archiving and Deleting Emails
Before you dive in to check the steps, we will like to share the complete details about the difference between archiving and deleting email along with their implications.
• When you archive an email it disappears from your inbox. However, it still remains in your AT&T email account. Actually, it just moves to archive folder from where you can get it back whenever you want. You should opt for archiving the email if you think that you may need this email in the future.
• Similarly to the archiving, deleting the email also make email to disappear from the inbox. However, the difference is that deleting will remove the email completing from your account. There is no option by which you can restore a permanently deleted email in AT&T.
• The advantage of deleting the email is that it frees up the storage space in your AT&T email account. Archiving doesn’t free up space because it just moves the email between the folders without deleting it.
So, we can conclude that you should delete an email permanent if you are sure that you are never going to need it in the future.
How to set iOS 11 device to delete the emails permanently instead of archiving them?
As per the default settings when we swipe to delete an email on iOS 11 devices we get options to archive and flag only. To get the delete option after swiping you need to make some subtle changes in the settings. Just follow the steps illustrated below in order to do so.
1. Open the settings menu from your iOS 11 device.
2. After that, you need to tap on the “Passwords & Accounts” or “Accounts & Passwords” option.
3. Then, you have to select your AT&T email account from the list available under the “Accounts” option.
4. Select your AT&T email address on the next screen.
5. Now, scroll down and tap on the “Advanced” button.
6. Select the “Deleted Mailbox” option that will appear under the “Move Discarded Messages into”.
7. Here, you need to verify that your “Deleted mailbox” button under the “Mailbox Behaviors” is pointing to the trash folder. If not, then you can change it by tapping on it.
8. Press the back button on your iPhone to return back to the previous screen.
9. Finally, you need to tap on the “Done” button that will appear on the top right corner of the screen.
Don’t forget to restart your phone after making all the changes so that the settings may get saved. In case you encounter any sort of difficulties in following the steps above then you can contact AT&T email customer service and seek assistance.